St. Patrick’s Day!

In light of tomorrow being St. Patrick’s Day, I thought I would blog about food eaten on St. Patrick’s Day. I don’t know much at all about this particular holiday except that it is an Irish holiday where a lot of beer is consumed and the main color has not always been green… it originated as blue since blue is the color of Ireland’s flag but the good ole shamrock led it to be a mainly green holiday. While these may be fun facts and some that may not be well known, I do not know anything about Irish culture and food, therefore, I do not know what kind of food is served on St. Patrick’s Day. I sure did research it though so that I could tell all my readers about it.

The first website that came to mind when thinking about this was the foodnetwork.com. Little to my surprise, there were plenty of recipes suitable for the Irish holiday. Since St. Patrick’s Day is thought of as a lucky holiday, most of the food used in the many recipes is believed to bring you some sort of luck! There were quite a few recipes that I found, so I will just list a few and if any of them spark your interest, you can take a closer look and try them for yourselves. There was: Shepherd’s Pie, Guinness and Onion Soup with Irish Cheddar Croutons, Smoked Salmon and Watercress Salad with a Lemon-Caper Vinaigrette, Roasted Lamb Shanks with Lemon and Herbs, and Corned Beef and Cabbage… just to name a few. Take a look for yourself and enjoy a tasty meal for a luck holiday!

Leave a Reply

